Some people place a high value on loyalty to the employer. To others, it is perfectly acceptable to change jobs to build a career. Discuss these two positions. Then indicate which position you agree and why.

Different cultures place varying values on loyalty to the employer. In some countries, most notably in Japan, there is a high degree of loyalty among employees. On the other hand, in western cultures high loyalty to one’s employer is not considered rational. In western countries it is common to change job once in a while in order to achieve more success in career path. Both views have advantages and disadvantages.

In cultures that value loyalty, a kind of family relationship seems to develop between employer and employee. For example in Japan employees do their best to improve companies which they are working in. Besides, employers are concerned with assisting the employees to develop their skills and knowledge. The negative aspect of absolute loyalty to employer is that the employees miss their chances to learn about new carrier directions and find positions in other companies which suit them better. From the employer’s point of view, not being able to hire new people which their skills match the needs of company better is a considerable limitation.

In cultures in which it is acceptable to change jobs every few years the employees are always looking for opportunities to improve their competencies. They even feel free to change their professional fields. They stay in one company as long as it is mutually beneficial to company and employee. Neither the employee nor the company has long-term commitment. The company also can replace the current employees with new individuals whenever is needed. The drawback of this system is high cost of losing good employees to the company.

Although both perspectives have its advantages and drawbacks, each of them may be preferable in certain cultures. In my point of view it is much better for the employees to have opportunity to change jobs in order to build perfect career path based on their personal choices.