Some people think that they can learn better by themselves than with a teacher. Others think that is always better to have a teacher? Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons to develop your essay.”

Learning is a continuous and never ending process. People have different opinions about learning from experts or doing a self study. I believe, one can learn better by themselves instead of relying on others for their level of knowledge expertise and dependency . I will like to explore why I feel this way in the following essay.

To begin with, life is full of experiences and new learnings on a daily basis. When we are trying to learn from a teacher or a person who claims of having knowledge about the subject, we just rely on his or her knowledge base. We don’t go out of the box to validate if the knowledge that is shared is correct and complete. While learning on our own we get a broader perspective of the topic. With the available technology there are multiple sites available on Internet which provides immense knowledge. For eg, when I was learning a new computer language, the teacher could only explain what was present in the text books. We as students were required to do more apart from what is present in the books while doing our final exam projects. Hence, we relied more on internet rather than a teacher to complete our assignments successfully. Moreover, a teacher has limited time available to teach us and so its highly not possible to cover vast topics. So for gaining wide spread knowledge, one has to explore more options instead of being dependent on the teacher.

Secondly, in order to eliminate the problem of dependency on teachers, one must follow the approach of self learning. When we are learning with the help of teachers, we have to follow their time zone, depend on their availability, sometimes a teacher may not be able to share or give apt examples. These all factors play a vital role when we learn from others. Whereas, with the option of self study one can learn at any flexible time and place. We ourselves can decide the length of our daily study pattern, techniques and strategies required to study. I do agree with the fact, that teachers are required at an very early stages of life, when we are just neophytes in learning. But, we cannot negate the fact that teachers will not be present to help us every time. For eg, while working in an organization, I realized multiple times that I got stuck in my work. I couldn’t take help from any of my teacher as I had left my college since 3 years, so I had to rely on self study, refer some books are google it to solve the problem. On successfully solving the issue, I gained lot of confidence and assured myself that I can deliver successful projects . Basically teachers are just to lay the foundation for every student. So I think to have an all round growth one must avoid dependency to a possible extent.

To sum it up, I strongly believe self study is the better option. This is will boost our confidence, will help us achieve massive knowledge and reduce dependency on others to complete our task.