Some students prefer to study alone. Others prefer to study with a group of student. Which do you prefer ? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone has his or her own way of doing things. The studying habit, i.e, whether one prefers to study alone or in a group, is something very personal, depending solely upon the discretion of an individual. I myself find the latter one more helpful. The reasons are manifold.

Firstly, it is not a very weird thing to happen if someone comes across a handful of doubts or difficulties while trying to peruse a topic. In a group-study, it is very natural to expect at least somebody to understand the logic behind, in most of the cases, and to explain it to the others. Only those doubts which still remain unaddressed can be cleared by posing those questions to the instructor.

Next, it might so happen that two different students solve the same problem using their own expertise, but using different techniques. One can definitely learn from the other how to approach the problem from other perspectives as well, and this might help them later on to solve some new problems where those tricks need to be applied.

Also, some of the students might have understood some sections better than the others. Discussing it among themselves is sure to help those who hadn’t been able to appreciate the underlying intricacies & beauties of the topic by their own, and all of their concepts are likely to become much more clear, as at least someone must have raised a point had he or she discovered any flaw in the logic. One must help another if he or she is lagging behind, due to some reasons, and this induces in one the virtues of adaptability & cooperation.

However, while all these go in favour of group-study, someone might argue that interaction with the others distract one’s concentration, and he or she can’t study with rapt attention which would have been possible otherwise, had he or she been able to study alone. If one ends up with a bunch of doubts, he or she might ask someone later on for their clarifications, all at a time.