Topic#42 What is a very important skill a person should learn in order to be successful in the world today? Choose one skill and use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

Twenty years ago, if you had asked a person what do they think was the most important skill to be successful in the world, you would have gotten a variety of answers. If you ask a person who is about my age the same question, persumably, eight out of ten will give the same answer as computer skill is the most important skill that a person should learn. Why do I think computer skill is the most important skill? The major reasons are as follows.

First, computer skills such as operating a word processing software package or typing are convenient and efficient. For example, it goes without saying that I am writing this essay by using a computer. If I do not have computer skill, I can not make a composition as quickly as possible; maybe I can only write on paper. Another vivid example is that many colleges is offering online classes for student to choose, which means the students can study in the comfort of their homes and acquire their knowledge by means of using computer at home.

Secondly, computer is one of the most important tools for teaching and communicating between teachers and students. Recently, school teachers have an increasingly demand on students to turning in their papers or school works, and the teachers can score on line. If the teacher has a assignment, they just send an e-mail to the students. In addtion, many young people use computers to communicate with each other. They use online chat rooms, messengers and so on. They even play online games through the Internet. Therefore computer skills are very important for students to communicate with their teachers and fellow students.

Last but not least, computer skill helps people to find a good job after they graduate. As we open newspapers and search for a good job, we can find that computer skill is a required skill for nearly every job. Indeed, whether you work as a receptionest, salesperson, warehouse manager and office clerk, you have to operate a computer and therefore computer skill is absolutely neccessary for these jobs and most others.

Although there are many other important skills for a person to succeed in today's world, judging from what I have mentioned above, I think my point of view is solid and sound. Having computer skill is one of the most important thing in today's world.