TPO 01 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reaso

While some people prioritize academic infrastructure like classes and libraries compared to those catering to sports and social activities, in my opinion, I believe that the latter is equally important and should receive equal financial support. This is because of two reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, most sporting activities today require rigorous physical exercise, which not only helps us to stay in shape but is also instrumental in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Routine physical exercise helps keep at bay certain chronic diseases such as diabetes and obesity. Furthermore, maintaining a healthy lifestyle also aids in improving academic skills. Therefore engaging in sports should be encouraged at universities and colleges, since these places contribute immensely to the character and personality development of individuals. Drawing from my own experience, I remember during my years at college I proactively participated in inter-department football games. Eventually, I could see my overall health improving a lot. Consequently, I fell ill less often and I could focus more on my academics. This helped me improve my grades over the years.

Secondly, social activities and sports teach us valuable interpersonal skills. Because both of these rely entirely on team-work, we learn to value the contribution of each member of the team. Furthermore, while working in teams, we learn to rise above personal difference and work towards a common goal. During my final year at college, I volunteered for a charity drive where both students and faculty donated clothes and food, and these were then distributed amongst the underprivileged children residing in the outskirts of the city. I learnt several skills ranging from scheduling to conflict-resolution, during my time as a volunteer. Working in a professional environment, I find these skills pertinent even today in our day-to-day tasks.

Universities and colleges are the stepping stones for students before they go out to confront the real world. While academic measure are able to assess a student's knowledge and expertise relevant to the subject of his study, there are still no conclusive way to evaluate his or her social skills. It is therefore, through sports and social activities, that the idea of healthy lifestyle and interpersonal skills such as team-work, needs to be developed.

In conclusion, I believe that sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries because they help us to prioritize our health and also learn skills that are very important as we go forward in life. Thus they should receive financial support and funding concomitant to those received by classes and libraries.