TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Without a question, some people would argue that sports and social activities are not necessary, and furthermore, they are distractions from the academic studies while others may consider the opposite point of view. As far as I am concerned, I firmly agree with the second group. An individual is a whole, mind and body, and for sure a social being. In my own experience, I could hardly complete successfully my university degree without both, sport and social activities. I would detail my reasons below.

To begin with, it's important to understand that an individual is a whole, mind, and body, immersed in a social structure. According to this, universities and colleges need to understand that education is not a simple assimilation of data by the students, but an integral and multidisciplinary activity that involves the academic community of each institution.

By the same token, we can confirm the important role of sports during study periods of time. Not only, the practice of sports has evident health benefits, but also, according to recent research, during physical activities the brain eliminates endorphins, a hormone, family of the dopamine, that has a relaxing effect on the mind and the body. For this reason, to practice some sport allows to relief part of the stress consequence of tight academic schedules and difficult exams.

Finally, as mention above, we are part of a social system. Furthermore, we depend on that social system to function successfully as individuals. In my own experience, having friends and good classmates during my time in the university, helped me on many levels, not only for the evident benefit of their company, but also because they were a great support with different projects, helpful explaining concepts I didn't understand during the classes, and by recommending me the better classes or programs to follow according to their own experiences. In other words, social activities would promote a better contact with the academic community, getting to know good friends and classmate that would help and improve our learning.

In summary, for all the argument explained above, I strongly believe that sports and social activities are essential for a successful experience in universities and college. This is because they improve and promote confidence, relieve stress and help to cope with the difficulties academic studies could demand.