TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

In general, people agree with the fact that budget of universities and colleges remain limited. But how to spend the budget has always been a matter of controversy or should I say this is where the agreement stops. A plethora of people believe that the main mission of universities and colleges is to provide students with an environment in which they can merely increase their information and boost their knowledge. That is why classes and libraries deserve to get the whole financial support. In contrast to this conviction, others are of the opinion that sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. I personally think that the latter carries more weight and in the following essay, I will try to explain my reasons which I believe are the most common viewpoints among people.

The first and most exquisite point to be mentioned is that doing sports helps people feel refreshed. No one could cast doubt on the fact that sports improve people's health both mentally and physically. Since we should talk about sports in a university context, let us examine what benefits they would probably have to students. Studying could be overwhelming especially after a long time. Thus, learners need to be fresh again and feel revived. This is where doing sports comes into play and helps students when they frustrated. According to a recent research paper publish in the journal of "The Prosperity" 2015 April, students engaged in sports at least 30 minutes a day will end up grasping information more quickly and more efficiently which will result in better academic performances that lead to getting more decent jobs in their future career.

Another reason to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with the issue that participating in social activities is beneficial to learners in terms of promoting the development of their social skills such as communication skills, arrangement skills, and spirit of teamwork. As an illustration, I considered myself shy when I was a university student back in 2000s. Majoring in software engineering, I always had trouble presenting my seminars before my fellow students. That is why my presentations did not seem appealing to others and my scores never improved. It was until I decided to take part an English club and it worked like a charm. As everyone who was a member of that club was obliged to narrate a story in English every week, I tried to do my best to enhance my narration and make my stories look attractive in order to elicit my audience's attention. Gradually, I felt I was progressing toward that goal and after a while I had no trouble conveying my thoughts and communicating with other people whatsoever. Furthermore, my self-confidence also improved remarkably to some extent that I was appointed as representative of my department (Electrical and Computer engineering) for the annual competitions of Artificial Intelligence projects. As you can see, participating in social activities is a contributing factor in terms of enhancing students' social capabilities.

In a nutshell, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that at universities and colleges, students should have facilities in order to promote their health physically and mentally while studying their lessons. Moreover, as human beings, they need to be able to eliminate their possible weaknesses in social areas thereby taking advantage of upcoming situations in their future life.