TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

When it comes to the arrangement of the university budget, the university should allocate the same amount of money to the extracurricular activities as they do for academics. Some people disagree with my opinion because they think that the primary goal for the university is to focus on academics subjects only. But one day they will find out that my notion is true. As far as I am concerned, I completely agree that the university should finance the sports and social activities as they do for academics for the reasons that I will mention them below.

First is that sports are very important for the student's health as it promote their well-being. As a matter of fact, sports keep the students away from many diseases such as Diabetes, heart problems, and obesity. Participating in sports will increase the flow of blood to various organs in the body. According to the most recent research conducted by Harvard university shown that 90 percent of students who are taking part in sports are less likely to develop diabetes than those who are not participating in those activities. so, the university need a tremendous a mount of money to fund those activities either by establishing a Gym in the university or renting somewhere else to help the students to grow healthy. As you can see, the sports are an integral part in students life.

Second reason that comes in my mind is that social activities are crucial for the students social life in the future since that will help them to learn a lot of valuable things in their life that will contribute significantly to their development and success. It is not surprising that the students who are participating in those activities excel in their academics. As an English proverb goes,'a healthy mind lives in a healthy body'. By participating in activities, the students are able to apply the same principles that they gained from those activities to their studies. It is scientifically proven that students who are enrolled in social activities maintain a high GPA and score higher in their finals. Not to mention that students can learn to be sociable, co-operative, independent from those activities. This illustrates the signifigance of social activities in students life.

Admittedly, it is important for the university to fund libraries too since it is imperative to keep the student up-to-date with the latest technology. It is costly to buy and maintain computers and keep the building running during the day. Otherwise, they will deprive the students fro a tremendous a mount of information that will broaden their minds. But the benefits of funding sports is really important and we have to put it into consideration.

In a conclusion, the university should fund the sports and social activities as they fund the libraries because not only it is important for the students health, but also it is important for their social life in the future.