TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people believe that sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and hence should receive equal financial support. Students attend university to get a higher education, to pursue higher degree and so that they can achieve their goals and can get success in the life. Sports and social activities are important for students, but classes and libraries are fundamental. In my view, classes and libraries are essential than sports and social activities, so former should receive more financial support.

University needs more money for classes and libraries. Students at the university require up to date class and library facility so that they can get good education. Students need good classes to attend their lectures. Recent days, classes at all the universities are with latest facilities, like air conditioning, heating and good sound system, so that students can fully concentrate in the study. To run these classes, university needs well-educated and knowledgeable professors and so to hire these professors, university should receive financial support.

Students need latest library facility to get all the study material to get good education. They need latest technology like computers and internet facility. These tools are very important to get the latest knowledge. Moreover, students require latest updated subject books and research magazines collection. To run the library, university needs sincere staff members for long hours. For long hours, library uses lots of electricity to keep the area pleasant. So, this way, university needs money to operate library.

I do believe that sports and social activities are important, but not at the cost of study. These activities are important for students’ good physical and mental health. In my view, if students indulge themselves into sports and social activities, then it becomes difficult for them to fully concentrate into study and get a higher score in all the tests. And if any individual wants to pursue career in the sports, then, the person can achieve by joining any sports club outside university. Here, I would like to give the example of Sachin Tendulkar, who is the greatest Indian cricketer, never attended university to get cricket training. In short, physical and mental health is important for students and can be achieved by spending less money outside the university. And students can also play sports on grounds and do social activities by joining some clubs at university, but I do not think that these activities need lots of money.

In nutshell, classes and libraries are more important than sports and social activities at university. Sports training and social activities can be done at university with use of less money, or outside the university with the help of other resources, but knowledge and education cannot be achieved without classes, professors and libraries, and all these things need lots of money, so that classes and libraries should receive more financial support than sports and social activities.