TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone would say that they agree that telling the truth is important to keep a good relationship between people, but not everyone are really sure of that. The point is, that it is politically correct to affirm that premise. In my opinion, and at my age, I learnt that telling the truth is always better than keep secrets in a relationship.

First of all, I consider that hide, lie, or keep secrets, between two or more people, only would jeopardise the trust between them. Moreover, if you are trying to build a long term relationship with someone. To illustrate better this point, I want to bring up that a frequent cause of divorce occurs when one of the members discovers a secret not revealed on time from one of the partners. The trust, in this case, is broken as a chrystal broken which it pieces could never be fixed again.

Secondly, many people think that white lies are inoffensive and also necessaries in some cases. For example, tell to your friend that her new shorthair looks great when it does not, is a good action to do. I used to agree with that position, but I think now, that the best thing to do is just telling the truth. In fact, my experience tough me, that sooner or later, the lie, even white, would be unveiled and the friendship could be affected.

Finally, the lier, who keep a lie or secret, will suffer a great deal of stress. Lies demand a lot of work to keep them in a long term. Furthermore, the lier has to have a great memory if he or she wants to keep that lie in time. Consequently, the lier would be under a huge stress. When you tell the truth, it is always easier to remember even the most little details.

In summary, no matter what circunstances you are, or in what kind of relationship, it is my opinion that it is always better to tell the truth, if you want to have a healthier relationship with others, and better life.