TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having a long and continued relationship in our personal or social life has become a main objective of modern people. Some believe that in order to have a permanent friendship, people should always tell truth. Others, on the other hand, disagree with this notion and have the opinion that other factors such as being intelligent and having a sense of humour is equally important and telling truth would sometimes bring about the end of relationship.

To start with, being honest to our friends, partner and parent does not always result in having a positive and last-longing relationships. In some situations, we might not tell the exact truth. I can remember a personal experience here. About, 1 year ago, in January 2016, my partner purchased an expensive dress from high street located in Australia. She spent more than 300 dollars for just an evening dress. When she came back home and showed that dress to me, it was not designed so well and even it was not beautiful on her. I was going to tell her how she was stupid to pay such this hefty amount for this worthless dress. However, in a moment, I just grasp that she wanted compliments of how she is tasteful and wise to buy such a bargain like this. Subsequently, I changed my mind and started to admire the dress and her choice. She suddenly became very happy and satisfied. As this example shows if I told her the truth, probably now I would be single. There is always such this white lie which would help have a long and happy relationships with our wife and friends. Therefore, telling always truth does not necessarily mean having a long relationship.

In addition, there are other factors which guarantee a long-lasting friendship such as being intelligent and reliable and having a sense of humour. In most circumstances, the first step to make a friend might be having a funny characteristic. I have known a lot of friends who are very humorous and when I spend time with them we always laugh and we can not notice the pass of time. Modern people are now very engaged with their work and life and they prefer to have such funny friends whom can relieve the stresses and strains they have undertaken during their routine life. Another significantly important characteristic would be reliability. We need to have reliable friends and parent whom we can trust on them in critical conditions and when we face problems in our life. I remember how my parents were supportive when I was without any jobs around 6 months ago. They loaned me a considerable amount of money so I could survive during those difficult times. My friend was also very helpful and tried to find a suitable post for me. Fortunately, he was successful to encourage his manager to give me a temporary job until I would find a permanent occupation.

In conclusion, although honesty is an important characteristic for having a long relationship, it is not always a factor which results in having a happy relationship. In some circumstances, it is not worthwhile to say the truth and it is recommended to say some white lies. Moreover, having a humour personality and being reliable are equally important, guaranteeing a continuous and lifelong relationship.