TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Human beings are by nature social animals; we live in society. Having a good relationship with others are very important for us to live in society. Some people agree that telling the truth is considered as the most important part in any relationship; others disagree. In my opinion, truth plays the main role in any relationship. Human dignity requires truth telling; truth brings trust, cooperation, and authentic communication.

To begin with, truth telling builds trust and cooperation among human beings. In order to build a strong relationship, people have to trust and cooperate with each other. For example, I remember five years ago I worked in a hospital, I had a new manager who is a very reliable and trustworthiness person. The manager always being honest, everyone in the department always informed by her of what is going on and what need to be improved regarding work performance and person's behaviors. When the manager said something, everybody trusted her and willing to give her cooperation. As a result, at the end of the year, our department won the reward for being the best teamwork. As you can see, my manager would not have gain trust and had a prosperous relationship with coworkers if she were not always telling the truth.

In addition, any good relationship requires good communication between others; truth-telling is an essential key to having authentic communication and makes the genuine interaction between people possible. If truth were not expected, it would not be long before communication would break down. For instance, one of my coworkers, she usually is not a reliable person and not always telling the truth. One day, my manager assigned her a project to work on, and she did not be honest and afraid to speak the manager the truth that she could not work on the project. She does not have skills to accomplish the job. Instead of telling the manager the truth, my coworker decided to not show up at work and did not communicate with anyone. As a result, the project passed the due date and people think my coworker is not reliable; she has not received any new project to work again after that day. This experience taught me that by not being honest and telling the truth can break down the communication and relationship between people.

In conclusion, though some may disagree with this statement, telling the truth is the most important part in any relationship. Not only truth brings trust and cooperation among people but also create good communication and make the genuine interaction between people happens. Everyone should always tell the truth and considers as the most important part of our relationship with others.