TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans are social beings who benefit from having a relationship with others. Friends play and essential role in our lives. One of the most important things people want in life is that to spend time with a person with whom they feel comfortable and consider a real friend. Some people think it is important to make new friends than keep in touch with old friends. Some people seek new friends in order to have new experiences. In my opinion, keeping old friends is more important than making new friends. Old friends cannot be replaced with new friends, they are reliable and understand our lives so well.

First of all, old friends are very important because they have shared experiences and memories with us. Our old friends have known us for many years and time has proven that the relationship with our old friends is real. Old friends are reliable and are the ones whom we can trust. I am sure that everyone wants to have someone who they can trust and share their personal feeling with when they are going through difficult time. I remember when I lost my grandfather, I was living away from my family. I was alone and very depressed; however, one of my old friends drove about five hours to stay with me during the weekend and helped me feel better. I have found that my old friends always have my back. Every time I have problems in my life, my old friends are the ones who always support me and are with me. I have not gone through difficult times alone. Relationships with my old friends are real and are important and I do not want to lose them.

The second reason why keeping old friends is more important than making new friends is that old friends are the ones who understand us the most. Though new friends may introduce you to new activities and give you different experiences, it is important to take the time to get to know them well. A good relationship takes time to grow and it cannot happen overnight. Therefore, being surrounded with people who understand you is essential. Your old friends have known you for years, so they know what you like and dislike, they can see value in you, and they know how to approach you in an appropriate way when you need it. Also it is more fun to spend time with friends who understand you and are willing to support you in your personal goal. Your old friends understand you and can anticipate what you want without you having to say anything.

In conclusion, though there are advantages to making new friends, there is no doubt that old friends cannot be replaced with new friends. Relationships with old friends are real and reliable. It is important to keep in touch with old friends with whom you feel comfortable. Old friends know our life and understand us very well.