TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having a broad networking will help people, especially young people, to be successful in their personal and professional life. Given that notion, some believe that it is more beneficial to make new friends to be successful in our life rather than keeping the old ones. I personally hold the opposite viewpoint, thinking that keeping old friends is significantly more important helping people to progress in their career and in their private life. In this essay, this perspective will be argued.

To start with, old friends are presumably more reliable than new acquaintances when it comes for finding jobs. Old friends generally know our personalities and potentials. After graduation from university, having a firm and reliable relationship will go a long way towards employment. Old friend usually care more compared to the new ones. I remember a personal experience here. Around 1 year ago, I was struggling finding an appropriate job which would be in accordance with my qualities and educations. After months of seeking job, I was only successful in being employed in some casual jobs. Accidently, one of my old friends whom I have known him since 10 years ago contacted me and offered me a very related job. He helped me towards the interview process which finally led to my employment. Further he pointed out that he had found out about my career issue through Linkedin website and instantly tried to solve my issue. As this example has showed, old friend are usually more helpful especially in critical conditions than the new ones.

In addition, when it comes to personal matters old friends are usually more supportive. They know our characteristics well and when we are disappointed they are often more sympathy. If we have some issues with our parent, old friends will step forward to address our problem by listening to us and trying to talk with our parent, since they know our backgrounds, our thought and our feelings. When we are sick they show sympathy and want to assist us to recover soon. In financial circumstances, old friend are reliable source to request as they can trust us more than new friends. Old friend are more trustworthy and we can reveal some of our personal problems to them and be sure that they keep all of our secrets with themselves. Regularly, new friends cannot be reliable to disclose all of our thoughts as they probably would not be real friend. People every now and then have chosen their old friend in emergency circumstances over their new friends.

In conclusion, old friends show more sympathy, be more companion and are more supportive than new friends. Without any doubt, we prefer to call our old friend when we need money, when we feel depressed or when we have some arguments with our parents.