TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship according to me is a very slow process which blooms between hearts just like love, undergoes and withstands shocks of adversity before being entitled to the appellation. There is a saying, "To be trusted is a greater compliment than being loved", which in depth shows us conspicuously that long lasting true friendship is priceless. Moreover, binding of trust is improved between friends as the passing years and time spent together. So, I completely agree with the point of keeping old friends rather than making new friends.

To begin with, friendship is a matter of trust and old friends are more reliable. The present world is filled with people who are in a rat-race running behind power and money in order to stop the quenching thirst of greediness which is never ending. In light to this, we never know who is wishing good for us and who is wishing evil for us. So it's always better to keep an old friend who is always there to aid and abet you instead of making a new friend and get into trouble.

Furthermore, when it comes to sharing secrets, close friends are the ones who come to our mind first. As far as I have experienced, my close friends are like a stress busters, mentors and also Shrink with whom I can say everything and also get solutions to my problems. In addition to this, a long year of friendship brings a good understanding as what is liked and disliked by him/her, my strengths and weakness as well. For instance, in my bachelor's degree, we were a gang of 6 people who became close to each other so well that everyone knew each other very well. One of the most beautiful qualities of true friendship is to understand and to be understood. Since we knew about the likes and dislikes of friends, whenever we planned for trips, it was much easier to select the places, and also trips were more convenient and most enjoyable which will not achieved when gone with new friends.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by the people who argue that making new friends will be advantageous for various reasons like we get socialized, we get to know the world better, we can improve in a particular expertise when a new friend is good at it, we get better opportunities. Perhaps, all these materialistic things can be achieved when a person is good at communication. But, my point of argument is more emotional rather than social. However, I still affirm that keeping old friends has a higher priority because the most valuable antiques are the old friends.

All things considered, both keeping old friends and making new friends is good as far as we choose the right one. I personally think old friends are more supportive, encouraging and accompany us whenever needed. Without any doubt, they are the ones whom we remember first to share emotions and feelings, may it be good or bad.