TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of science and technology as well as regulation limiting car license issued, some people believe that in 20 years, fewer cars will be in use than they are today. As far as I am concerned, I cannot agree with this statement for the following reasons.

First of all, since the price of cars is undergoing a downward trend and people live further from their office than before, the need for driving cars is increasing. Take Shanghai as an example. Most people do not afford living in inner ring and choose to live in outer ring. Instead of purchasing exorbitant apartments, most of my friends choose to own private cars, by which they can commute to office with greater convenience. So, as one of the most effective transportation methods, the number of cars in use will not drop in 20 years.

In addition, the public transportation is already under greater burden, as a result of which more people resort to driving private cars. For instance, although the interval between two consecutive metro trains is no more than 2 minutes, I still have to wait for more than 3 trains to get onto the carriage, squeezing myself into the crowds. Obviously, these kind of terrible experience of public transportation push more people to turn to private cars.

Admittedly, the increasing oil price and stricter traffic regulations would, to some extent, limit the use of cars. However, the limitation is offset by the increasing financial status and more advanced training system for driving. So, the tendency for increasing car use is not going to be curbed.

To sum up, facing with the poor public transportation and strong need for effective transportation methods, the number of cars in use will keep on rising in 20 years.