TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

The choices people made about how they use personal time affect deeply to their life. I am the opinion that people tend to spend their time to entertain themselves rather than doing things that matter, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, everybody dreams about success without exerting proper actions to achieve it, which later prevent their development. In order to success, we need to draw out firm plan and have a determination to carry out the plan properly. Without doing so, our plan will wither and die. My story of study English is a good example for this. When I first come up with the idea to study abroad, the English proficiency is the obstacle in the application process. All of the university require at least a degree of English, a certified document that proves applicant ability to use English for studying. My English study plan very detailed at first, specifically assigned day and time for each of four academic skills. With this plan, I strongly believe in myself to master English in a short time. In reality, my plan crumbles because of attention shifted to playing a video game instead of studying. Therefore, a strong and detail plan was not enough to help me achieve the result that I needed. My plan for study abroad also gets affected and postponed for the next semester.

Secondly, people have a tendency to do things that fun and nonsense rather than focus on the things that they should do, which eventually held them back. This related to the enjoyment of doing such actions. These easy tasks do not require people to concentrate and exert their energy, which leads to the stress relieve and increase happiness in short-term. They are the opinion of living in the state of ease and unaware of the consequences. In this case, my story of conducting research can help illustrate this. In 2016, I needed to gather large bodies of evidence for the effect of video game on young adult. As being a gamer myself, I seek for friends around campus to fill the prepared questionnaire. Getting the positive result early, I made myself believe this research could be done in s short time. While enjoying the free time and neglecting the due day, I almost forgot to finish the research and turn in the paper. As a result of the late submission, I was marked F for the paper and fail the course. If I was not pleased with myself and live in the illusion of enjoyment, I could have had the better outcome.

In conclusion, people fall to do the personal enjoyment things due to the lack of determination and because of the illusion of short-term happiness.