TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

Modern technology has changed perspective of people towards personal enjoyment compared to the viewpoint of people in the past. Some believe that modern people reluctantly carry on works they should complete and instead they like to spend more time on their personal hobbies. On the other hand, others have the opposite viewpoint, arguing that these days, people are more involved in their professional work and they cannot engage in their personal enjoyment. I agree with the former group, since advanced technology has eased the professional work and helped people to have more leisure time. This contributes to having more laid back people who do not like to do works needed a lot of energy.

To start with, advanced technology has made professional jobs much easier than the physical works in the past, resulting in a trend that people like to perform easy jobs. Most of jobs, are now performed with the help of advanced computers and automation systems. This means that it is not required to undertake physical activities to fulfil a handy job, which was common in the past. Moreover, technology has made jobs to be completed significantly quicker than the jobs in the past, going a long way towards the quality of modern people's life. Therefore, people are now more interested in their personal hobbies and pleasures. They prefer to be engaged in more automation jobs and less in physical works. In the past, if it was necessary to plant their domestic vegetables and fruits or to involve in animal husbandry, now all of their basic necessities are provided by national or international products, conveniently. These type of activities now is becoming like hobbies and people do gardening to spend their spare time rather than to suffice their food requirements.

In addition, nowadays, there are various kinds of leisure activities and technology has enabled people to have time to try things they prefer. Modern airplanes and automobiles have caused a tremendous reduction in trip time. Continental travel is now possible and travelling is now becoming fashion. People like to have more fun and visiting another country with different culture will help them to understand the world around them better. These days, there are various kinds of jobs and companies to the extent that job seekers can choose whatever job they like to apply. This option was rare in the past and people were limited to choose between available jobs. Furthermore, online communication software, like Facebook, has motivated youth to make new friends from different part of the globe which has encouraged them to enjoy their life more than spending their time doing some boring studies or work. Distance learning has also made education more convenient and students can choose between a huge range of universities and schools to continue their studies. People nowadays prefer to have choices for everything. They like to have different options for professional works, for their leisure activities, for sports and for shopping.

In conclusion, I am personally of the opinion that people are more engaged in personal enjoyment, inclining to have different options for everything from sport and leisure activities to availability of jobs. Technology has gone a long way towards providing more spare time for modern people who do not like to perform works which are told to be completed.