TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People always are interested in making judgements about the quality of their life and comparing today’s quality with long past. There is a controversy among different people about whether life is now easier and more comfortable or it was several decades ago. Although this industrial world causes new widespread problems for people such as new diseases, global warming and noise pollution, technology provides all people around the world with easier and more comfortable life. The utmost important reasons include the improvement in health care and transportation, as well as the revolution created by electricity. Lines below shed more light on the issue put forward.

The first and foremost advantage of today’s life is state-of-the-art hospitals and health services. Although some diseases such as HIV are related to contemporary life, many of the past serious illnesses, now, could be cured. Many of the people who had fallen terminally ill, had been suffering unbearable pain and wished to be cured at that time, would not believe that a day their illnesses would be as simple as catching a cold. Also, today, if somebody fell terminally ill, the experienced doctors would prescribe some tablets and they would alleviate his or her pain. All of these improvements in health and drug make the lives more comfortable and easier than it was in the past.

Furthermore, the new means of transportation make life more and more comfortable. As a case in point, our grandfathers had to travel a long distance by horses to visit a city, or fight against a country. It is crystal clear that, now, people travel by many fast means of transportation such as luxury automobiles, fast trains, etc. and also, they fight against other countries by fighter planes. Also, our grandparents who had become ill, had to go to other cities, in which health services had been improved, by carriages. However, now, people would travel abroad by train quickly so that they could cure their serious illnesses. Actually, the easier trip, the more comfortable life.

Last but not least, electricity has major positive impacts on life. For instance, our grandparents had to burn wood to provide light, heat and food. But now, just by pressing a key all parts of a house will be bright. Also, many houses are provided with heat by a piece of electrical equipment. In addition, many of appliances in kitchen use electricity. Electricity, also, has an influence on industrialization. It is true that industry causes noise pollution, but, on the other hand, it provides many other advantages such as much less labor, by automation, economic development, etc. Each of which makes life easier for new generation.

To sum up, by taking all into account, it can wholeheartedly be alleged that today’s life is more comfortable and easier than the previous generations although some problems are allocated to the present. Of course, this claim is fully guaranteed by improvements in medicine, transportation and new sources of energies. On no account is it right that the next generations will face serious challenges of outweighing the advantages and disadvantages of technology and industry and their influences on the quality of life.