TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without any shadow of doubt, advanced technology has brought significant number of advantages to human beings' life. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is that whether it is valid that currently we have easier life or not. Some believe that our ancestors have better and more convenient life than ours. Others, on the other hand, have different perspective, preferring to have the current lifestyle than living in the past. I am of the latter opinion, since modern technology has caused tremendous positive changes towards our life, making it more interested and comfortable. Given that notion, changes in transportation systems, effective medicines and a broad range of entertainments can be named of few factors which make our life easier than the past.

To start with, in the past people have a limited option of transport. These days, the means of transport have been improving and providing a comfortable and inexpensive transportation systems, such as buses, trains and mono-rail systems. In the past, people were commute using inefficiency automobiles which were emitted a considerable amount of pollution to the environment. In contrast, the advanced automobile industry are now very environmentally friendly and even some companies like Toyota offer hybrid cars which use electricity as fuel. Moreover, innovative technology and discoveries of medicines have gone a long way towards the reduction of mortality rate and have provided us to live longer. In the past, there were considerable contagious and dangerous disease and people were lost their lives because of insufficient medicines. These days, people can survive even if they are diagnosed of cancer. As these examples have shown, technology has caused our life more blissful and comfortable than the life of our grandparents.

In addition, nowadays, people have more leisure time and can enjoy their life more than our ancestors could. Suffice to say that most of works have now performing by computers and there is not required to undertake physical activities to complete a job. Therefore, people can complete their job at ease and quickly which has brought a lot of spare time. There are number of entertainments such as theatre, shopping, sport events and travelling. These options were limited in the past. Nowadays, people can watch international sports events like Olympics with their 24 inch plasma televisions compared to the small black and white TVs of the past. They even can easily book a flight and attend the sport events. The option which is now available because of advanced and fast airplanes. Some people may say that in the past, people feel less stress and pressure compared to the level of stress which we now experience. It should be noticed that most jobs in the past were related to the agriculture and farmers were very dependent on the weather. If weather was not appropriate for crops, they might lose their lands and could not survive. With the advanced agriculture systems such as greenhouses, we now can have every kind of fruits during a year. Therefore, there were also pressure and strains in the past. These strains can be now experienced in our jobs. However, the huge number of entertainments and travel amenities have caused our life comfortable and pleasure.

In conclusion, Contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, I believe that advanced technology has gone a long way towards making our life promising and more comfortable by development of airplanes, automobiles, trains, medicine and offering us outstanding entertainments. These amenities were not available for our grandparents and we should thank technology for making our life awesome.