TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Beyond doubt, life today is much easier and more comfortable than it was when my grandparents were children. The recent developments in modes of transportation and communication have drastically improved our lifestyles.

At the time, when my grandparents were young kids, they had to travel by buses who used to take people just twice from their village to the nearest city. My grandparents tell me the story how they had a grand celebration when the village head got his bicycle. In fact, that was the only bicycle in the whole village in their times. On the other, today each home has at least two to three cars. Kids get their first ride on the cycles in the school days itself. In addition, the long distance between two provinces can be covered in hours by an aeroplane, which used to take days in their times by trains.

Also, in my grandparent's childhood days, the only means of communication used to be telegrams and letters. Even the landlines came when my parents were teens. Today we have faster and easily means of communication in the form of mobiles and computers. Computers indeed are the best modes of communication it helps us to visually communicate our near and dear ones who might be sitting far away from us in altogether a different country.

In my grandparents times, there were no online banking services due to which they had to stand in long queues to pay their monthly electricity bills. Today, all banking is just a click away. Life today is easier due to advanced technology. The temperature of the homes can be maintained according to weather. The efficient heating and cooling services are readily available in the form Air-conditioners and heating systems. Whereas in my grandparent's times, they had to cope up with extremes of weather by natural ways like shades provided by trees in summers and heat by a fireplace.

To summarize, I would say technology has made our life much easier as well as comfortable than what it used to a century ago.