TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In general, what students learn from school are ideas and concepts rather than facts. Lacking mature cognitive capacity, students need some fundamental concepts to help them understand the world when the facts are too complicated for them to deal with. However, I don’t agree with the statement saying that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, some knowledge can be acquired through ideas and concepts. Based on my personal experience as a teacher, standardizing knowledge into universal ideas and concepts makes students assessment doable and easy. On the other hand, some knowledge can be obtained only through facts. Take learning English for example, students in China struggle with so-called grammar which is even unfamiliar to the native speakers. Those experts turn English into measurable grammar so that teachers can mark students easily. Some of my students studying abroad told me that although they got high marks in English domestically, it’s still a problem for them to communicate with local people because they never learn the real conversation from ideas and concepts.

Secondly, understanding ideas and concepts separately enlarge the gap between the school and society. Some ideas students learn from school are theoretically right but is not adopted most time when it comes to reality because there are other ways which can optimize the benefits. Moreover, most students can neither recall what they learned immediately according to the situation nor see the connections between ideas and operations because they have never been shown in school. Many researches indicate that nearly 70 percent of students with jobs related to their majors end up relearning all the basic knowledges because they are totally different from what they learned in school . Students should learn more facts which could come in handy when they start their careers.

Finally, there are some opinions arguing that students are not capable of understanding the facts. Some facts are so overwhelming that even adults cannot manage it. I agree with this point to some extent. My position is that schools can increase the amount of facts they teach students as they growing up. For instance, some facts difficult to elementary school students probably are something easy to cope with for high school students, not to say university students. So our education system should pay attention to proportion of the concepts and facts concerning the age of students.

To wrap up, learning facts is as important as understanding ideas and concepts, for some knowledge can only be learned from facts. It’s also necessary for students to be familiar with facts of the career they are going to step in. Facts also play an increasingly important role in students life as they growing up.