TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the education is the crucial element for development and civilization. In order to achieve such a development, we need to learn and reasoning the facts. Personally, though, I think that understanding ideas and concepts is better than learning facts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the deep understanding of the concepts and ideas have caused a monumental change in the human life. It has categorized the natural phenomena into divisions. Each division is related to a specific scientific field in both science and social life. For example, in Physics, If Sir Isaac Newton, hasn’t looked for the scientific reason behind the falling of the apple from the tree. The gravitational law wouldn’t be existed and we might be still believing that things is falling under its own will.

First of all, understanding the roots of everything would help us to solve the complicated problems. When I was an undergraduate, I had an assignment about modeling an industrial problem using mathematics. Memorizing the general formula wasn’t helpful at all. However, When I learned the derivation and the principle, it was easy for me to solve such a problem.

Secondly, creativity is a vital key for solving a plenty of the human problems; however, deeper understanding for the concepts and the ideas are required for such creativity. The deep understanding gives the ability of being flexible which is important for figuring out any problem from all the different sides. For example, In the business school, for marketing a business idea, the full understanding of the product and the complete need for it, is so important. That is crucial to have a successful and more desired product.

In conclusion, the complete understanding of any idea or concept is very important in order to have any benefit from it.

The future has always generated from the full understanding of the past, look like, inventing a device based on an old theory.