TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today all parents and educators bear different views about the study methods of students. The ultimate goal of education is to get success in life. Some say that facts are the truth or reality, basic knowledge of subjects; hence students must know and remember the facts. While others think that knowledge of facts is not enough, students must understand the basic ideas and concepts related to those facts to retain the understanding for a longer time and hence pupils can apply the knowledge of facts in the form of creative ideas and concepts.

Firstly, it is a need for students that what they learn at school or college, they must remember the knowledge for a long- time. It is difficult for learners to retain the facts for a longer time. There are so many formulas and equations in math and science and it is difficult to retrieve exact word to word at the time of exams for students. But, understanding the key factors and steps means concepts and ideas about those facts help them to remember forever. And it would be easy to apply the learned knowledge to the real world after educational years. For example, it is difficult for students to remember the trigonometry theorems and periodic tables for more years but if students understand the basic concepts about those theorems and the characteristics of elements, then it would be very easy and apply such knowledge to different situations.

Second, understanding concepts and ideas of any subject or topic help all students to apply their knowledge in a novel and creative manner. To some extent, to get good grades and success during educational years, it is important to learn facts but is not a practical and efficient solution. And as a lack of true understanding, it would be difficult to apply the knowledge of facts in different situations and demands. On the other hand, if the students of computer science would have clear ideas and concepts in mind, then they can make different apps consisting various applications. Hence, in-depth understanding of ideas and concepts helps students to represent their views in a creative manner.

Undoubtedly, lots of people believe that facts are fundamental and make the base of knowledge. They argue that facts are valid, proved statements, hence it is important to learn them. But, I have observed and experienced that understanding of ideas and concept is more important for long- term remembrance of knowledge and its application in various ways.