TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The primary goal of education is to form critical thinking, and the utimate purpose of tertiary education is to teach students the method of self-learning. In my opinion, it is imperative for students to acquire the capbility of understanding ideas and concepts in order to develop critical thinking and self-learning method.

To begin with, the ability to comprehend ideas and concepts is essential to develop critical thinking. Steps in acquiring the ability of critical thinking involve complex ideas and concepts, such as background information, alternative choices and possible consequences. Without the competence of utilizing ideas and concepts in critical thinking, one can never distinguish right from wrong and make a reasonable judgement. My own experience is an apposite example. I can never tell what is real and what is lie until I learnt logics after I attended university. Before that, I was just a lost child in a foggy society without knowing which direction should I go. Understanding logics helps me tremendously in make a lucid and solid direction in my life.

Moreover, undrestanding ideas and concepts suffice students to develop self-learning method. The ability to comprehend ideas and concepts is essential to build the structure of self-learning method. One who acquires the self-learning method will never need to learn from tuitors any more, instead he learn by himself. The more ideas and concepts that a person knows, the more lucid view towards study will he develop. Culmulation of ideas and concepts is the source of self-learning because individuals can approach study in diffierent prespective and achieve an holistic understanding. I use ideas and concepts I have learnt before to help myself in learning new subject, such as architecture, psychology and law.

In conclusion, understanding ideas and concepts is more improtant than learning facts. The reason is that comprehending ideas and concepts is benefical in developing critical thinking and self-learn method, which are the aim of secondary and tertiary education respectively.