TPO 08_ Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In seeking to see the potential impacts of television advertisement on children, we first need to determine what is meant by advertisements. Advertisement can be any message that the TV is trying to convey to its potential audience, be it directly through commercial ads or the hidden messages in different programs. Using this definition, I subscribe to the view that TV ads can by times be destructive to children, and hence, it shouldn't be directed toward them.

To begin with, young children (2 to 5-year-old) are spending the most critical years in their entire lives; The learn everything quickly and form their very first memories. The memories formed at these ages are prone to have enormous impacts in child's whole life. Some movies, for instance, depict genius children that are superior to their peers and are aberrant, which is portrayed to be an admired trait. In the real life, however, not many people of this kind exist, and the few existing number are not socially accepted. Moreover, no one is truly a genius; so, if a child has high expectations of himself and feels like he has to be the best, this would let him down in later stages of life when he does not succeed in every field.

Additionally, having watched TV ads, children's attentions may foster asking for things, or getting involved in activities which are in fact detrimental to their health. Take a child who has watched the Jimmy Neutron cartoon as an example; The child may endanger her life by trying to do the same experiment at home. Another example could be a child who has watched the commercial advertisement of snacks, she insists on buying them, while they may be unhealthy, or contain specific ingredients that do not fit the child's diet.

To sum up, despite the fact that children can learn much from the movies designed for their ages, I believe that TV advertisements do more harm than good.