TPO 08 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Most television advertising contains false information. But children do not understand what is wrong or right. Some people believe that television advertising towards younger children should be allowed because they think that this advertising might be a good source of entertainment. However, I strongly disagree with them and I believe that television advertising towards young children should not be allowed. I will explain my viewpoint with three reasons.

First of all, television advertising towards these children might negatively impact their actions. For example, if an advertisement shows a baby flying by eating their products, the children might want to do the same. In that case, he might be seriously injured by doing that all by himself. Children at this age are quite imitative. They do mostly what they see around them. That is why they should not be allowed to watch these superficial exaggerated things that show in a television advertisement.

Second of all, advertising could possibly lead children to buy an expensive product even when the parents could not afford it. For instance, expensive playing materials are always the most demanding things among young children. They don't understand whether their family can buy the product or not, Watching the product on television could make them ask for impossible demands from their parents.

Finally, television advertisements always exaggerate things. They show things which is far away from the original product. Children find it disappointing when they get a different product than what they see on television. It makes it harder for parents to make them understand what is happening. And the children are always accusing their parents of not bringing the actual thing that they saw on TV.

In conclusion, the issue of whether television advertising towards younger children should be allowed or not is complex. Some suggest that they should be allowed as they think that they don't understand what they are advertising. Nevertheless, I still contend that children of that age understand enough and that is highly manipulated by television advertising.