TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television advertisements play an important role in TV programs and audiences, young and old, watch them frequently. From my point of view, I disagree with the idea that young children who aged from two to five should be precluded from watching television advertisements. I will present reasons for my opinion in the following paragraph.

To begin with, television advertisements wield no adverse influence on young child; therefore, there is no reason to prevent children from watching advertisments on TV. Advertisements are media materials for companies to advertise their products. Videos of advertisements on TV contain no inappropriate or provoketive information, which impacts young children. My own experience is an apposite example. I enjoyed watching TV a lot when I was young, because I was fascinated with the dynamic picture from TV. I have a great time in my childhood, watching TV as a hobby, and I received little negative influence from advertisement. Other children also enjoyed watching TV while periodic advertisement included in it.

Furthermore, it is unreasonable to prevent young child from watching advertisement from TV. TV programs are designed for general audiences. If there is apparent undesirable influence of advertisement to young children, the onus of preventing child from watching advertisements lies on parents. That means parents must supervise their children watching TV and turn off the TV when an advertisement is on, which is irrational. First, parents do not have time to oversight their children when they are watching TV. Second, it is impossible for parents to relax because parents need to rest while their child is watching TV. Thus, it is absurd to prevent children from watching advertisement.

To summarize, I oppose the proposal that television advertisement should be excluded from be watching by young children. One reason is that advertisements have no adverse impact on young children, and another reason is that it is absurd to do so.