TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently companies start to use target marketing to advertise for their products . In this regards, some people are inclined toward the opinion that those company can use kids as a target group, whereas others had exactly the opposite opinion. I firmly concur with this argument and I opposes the idea that commercials directed to young children due to the influence that may have on kids behavior as well as their selection of products.

First, this is obvious because television advertising will affect kids`behavior. Young children are not mature enough to select which product is useful for them. Consequently, they will follow TV commercial, and so they will want to buy whatever they see on the TV. This can affect negatively children`s behavior and bring about consumerism in it. For example a friend of mine has a 4 year old daughter and every time she see any advertisement for toys she starts to ask her to buy it . And with time her daughter develops the belief that it is good for her to spend a lot of money on toys. It`s clear that TV commercial should not be directed to young kids.

Second, it also evident that children, at the age of five and under,can not judge the quality of products. Therefore, TV advertising should not target them. For example, if young kids watch a commercial about a junk food many times, they will have their parents buy it for them which can have a serious impact on their health. Even though some may argue that some food advertising are about healthy meals, I believes that most of them are not. Because of this it`s better to address those advertisement to adults or older kids than to young ones.

Despite the fact that many companies say that target marketing is a successful way to advertise for their products, for the main reasons of protecting children`s behaviors and health , TV advertisement should not be directed to young kids at age of five and younger.