TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The concept of a creative infant has been changed; some criteria are no longer considered as signs of creativity. There is a controversy among different people about whether today’s children are more creative than they were in the past or not. Technology is a key factor in all changes and has burden on many aspects of personality, too. Although it has had small bad effects on babies, such as more isolated ones, it has helped them to flourish their hidden talents and in this way it has major positive impacts on their creativity. The more creative children is a result of utmost important reasons – relating to technology – including the internet and new toys, as well as computer games. Lines below shed more light on the issue put forward.

The first and foremost positive impact of technology on creativity is because of the internet. Actually, every children can connect to it and browse the web and as a result access information on every subject; this data can provide the children with many new inventions and open doors to them, as well as they can develop new idea and think about many aspects of science. People would agree that science is based on experiment and it is vital for all children to be familiar with past concepts and ideas; thus the more young people know about past inventions, the more possibility to propose new ones and be creative. Obviously, the internet is the easiest way for accessing to this up-to-date information. Therefore, it has a central role in creativity.

In addition, technology has recommended many new different car toys, gun toys, to name but a few. Each of which, in turn, familiarize young with new possible inventions. Imagine a situation in which a baby has a spear toy and it has a drawback, consider it bends easily, the infant will be involved in why it is too flexible! Perhaps in the distant future he or she will discover a new alloy which is very strong. In this way, individuals will be more creative. On the other hand, if they did not have many facilities and toys, just as the past, they could not know about possible future problems and their solutions. On no account is it right that involving in new systems clears children’s vision of mechanisms and they can draw some conclusions of interactions between their components. Therefore, they can be more inventive than infants who were deprived from these modern toys at the past.

Last but not least, it is not a case that computer games put forward by technology have no impact on creativity of a child. It is like a two-edged sword. By way of illustration, children can learn to deal with some virtual problems; how to drive their car, if they have an accident – in a computer game - what they should do, etc. all of them make children more inventive in real life. Actually, technology improves creativity in isolated young individuals. In contrast, it does not improve creativity when children play or work as a team. In case there is a conflict in a group, they cannot eliminate it, by finding a distinctive solution because computer games are isolating children. Therefore, computer games are a key factor in weighing creativity.

To sum up, by taking all into account, it can wholeheartedly be alleged that technology has made children more inventive and help them to flourish themselves despite some drawbacks like social skills. These advantages come from the internet, new facilities and computer game proposed by technology. The future will be even brighter than is today by growing positive influence of technology on creativity.