TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in the twenty-first century, an era of the modern technological innovations. These technological innovations have changed our life. Although some believe that our life has affected negatively, I strongly think that technology has affected our life positively and it has made the children more creative and productive. In my view, technological innovations have helped the children in the following ways to learn more and to do creative endeavors of their interests.

Firstly, Knowledge is the base of creation and today technology provides tons of resources to get the latest knowledge and information to put the ideas into various new ways. The digital revolution has clearly produced a large number of innovative products and services like the internet, computer, search engines, iPhones, various apps, and applications. Hence, more resources and viewpoints than ever before are now within reach of most of the people, including children to get the more knowledge and information, and the exposure to novel ideas and concepts can lead to enhanced creativity. For example, making of different types of robots for various purposes by children interested in science and technology has become popular nowadays. Younger children use household items to build robots to get fun, with very limited features that are limited to what their imagination can come up with, while older students focus on more challenging tasks such as designing, building, electronics, and programming.

Secondly, availability of various tools of technology has triggers creativity of children that has helped to develop creative thinking and other essential skills. Today children are writing blogs and making audio-video presentations. Blogs are just one example of how technology is enhancing creativity. The idea of a blog is to share thoughts on any wide range of topics, typing out blogs is a way to creatively develop a piece of writing, and then be able to showcase the piece for others to read and maybe even help in sparking creativity in a reader. Children can create their own videos and share them with their class, which can be a great opportunity for them to develop their creative skills. Today, children are making very attractive powerpoint presentations on the subjective topics and sharing their views with teachers and peers, this creative method was not prevalent few decades before when technology was not advanced. So, this way technology has provided ground to children to express their views, thoughts, and talents in a creative manner.

Thirdly, although technology is helping children to learn more and to be more creative, there are some ways that new technological resources like the internet takes them away from new ideas and destroys their creativity. For example, many students write down the summary of any topic or subject from the internet instead of reading the full topic or book, without understanding the matter. Today, in math class children use a calculator to do the simple calculations whereas in past in the absence of such device, children were using their brain ideas and creativity to solve the problems. Hence, excessive dependency on technology makes children dumb and less creative.

Finally, there are lots of good things about technology that encourage children to bring out their hidden artistic skills to generate novel, useful ideas and to implement those ideas successfully to make new innovations and thereby enhance children’s creativity.