TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, a prevalent statement we hear a lot is that children should be banned from video games because they are easily addicted to video games which are full of violence and bad behaviours. A considerable number of opponents, however, argue that what should be blamed is the lack of appropriate education from parents instead of computer games, which could be seen as an ordinary way of entertainment. As far as I am concerned, the latter view seems to align more with my perspective. There are several reasons to support my point of view, however, the following two will suffice here.

To begin with, banning children from playing video games is just a superficial way in education. If a child lacks the ability of self-control, they will easily be addicted to another kind of entertainment soon. What's more, since most of the children today are mature enough to have their own thought, it is impossible for their parents to totally control what they do or not to. For example, a child lives in my neighbourhood was addicted to video games at first. His parents are furious about it and ban him from playing games by threatening with violence and cutting his money. It turns out that this is a poor way of education. The boy then borrows money from his peers in school and played games in internet caf instead of at home. It took a long time for his parents to notice it and the situation had become worse at that time. In this case, we should learn that cultivating children of the sense of self-control with patience rather than banning them from doing something simply is a much better way.

Another reason is that, although we do not gain knowledge from playing computer game, it is not equal to say that playing computer game is a waste of time. For one thing, to win the games, the members of a team need to cooperate with each other closely while perfectly complete their own jobs, which will cultivate the children the spirit of teamwork. For another, since a majority of children are playing computer games today, a child who does not play games will be isolated. He will lose the common topic with his friends and drift away from his circle of friends.

Actually, if we abandon our stereotype of computer games and take these reasons into consideration, we can find that playing computer is just a way of entertainment, which will allow children to gain their social skills and build their social network. As for the dark side of playing games, what we need to do is communication with patience instead of banning.