TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having enough knowledge in academic subjects is a big concern for many people especially for academic people, who cares about education. There are too many advantages and disadvantages for being knowledgeable in many subjects, but many experts prefer to have enough information about variety of subjects instead of focusing on one single subject. They know that it is hard to do, but they still prefer to go that way. In my view, having knowledge in several majors is better than being expert in one topic.

First and foremost, many science are related together. For example, a doctor should know about psychology and other topics and subjects to help his/her patient, because in many cases, people have some psychological problems instead of physical problems. An expert doctor should know enough about other things to recognize the problem and find a perfect solution.

Second of all, being expert in many subjects will help people to have more opportunities to find a suitable job. A person, who knows many things in different subjects is qualified for many job positions. For instance, my brother has a PHD in Organic Chemistry. He also has 170 essays in his major. He came to United States two years ago and he started to find a job, but many universities asked him to teach something else, but he told them that my major is this and I just want to be focus on it, so they rejected him. Consequently, after two years he could not find any job, because he is looking for something specific and it is hard to find.

Last but not least, it is fun to study many topics. Many professors prefer to know many topics instead of one topic, because they can take some different courses during a semester and they do not need to repeat a same subject for hundreds of times during a year. Additionally, they can find their favorite topic after a while. Many students or professors hate a subject, because they have no idea about the subject. After a while, they will have enough interest to continue that major.

To sum up, although studying a variety of topics is hard, it has many advantages in the moment and in the future.