TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

According to an investigation, people in increasing numbers are exposed to abundant information which lead a question that if it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one subject. Some claim that they prefer the first choice since they can be an all-rounders and lead a colorful life. However, this is arbitrary and unilateral. I holds that people should focus on just one things. My reasons and examples are given below.

Initially, focusing on one specific subject means that people can get higher achievement in their own field. As is known to all, there are only 24 hours in a day that it is impossible to generate all the things. In that case, people who concentrate on one subject have more time to explore the unknown world. Take Mo Yan as an example. As the winner of the Nobel Prize for literature, he just focuses on the novel writing for years. Before we knew him, he didn't give up until getting the prize. It is unimaginable if he is an all-rounder and want to try prize.

Besides, individuals who focusing on just one subject can lead the life more relaxing. In order to have a broad knowledge, individuals have to work really hard in different field. However, no one can do well in so many field. For example, one of my friends who want to be a generalist have about 4 classes to take in his weekend. He has to spend all the time learning new subject so that he has no time to review the old one. At last, sadly, he didn't acquire even one of them.

Admittedly, I am not denying that people who have broad knowledge can achieve a greater success in the future career. However, it acquires a great deal of practicing and of course, talents in all the field. In fact, not all the people have the capability to be such a genius. What they can do is to focus on one things and practice it frequently so that they can achieve their goals.

In a nutshell, focusing on one specific subject is a better choice for most of people. It is not only because they have a higher level of opportunity to success in their own field but also because that it is much more easier and relaxing for individual to lead their lives.That is why I feel this way.