TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In general, people think that it is less important for people to live as a member of the extended family than in the past. They support that extended family makes people to be stressful because they have to consider a lot of family members. However, the notion does not reflect the stance that I hold and should not be thought about in a different light. I believe that today’s people are necessary to live in the extended family because young people in the family are able to be guided by family members and learn how to cooperate with others.

First of all, living as a member of the extended family allows people to be guided by their members. To be specific, as modern society is becoming competitive, parents have no opportunity to care their children. Most of parents are likely to pass their children to caring service, such as kinder garden. However, like grandparents, they are able to care their grandchild and also have child-caring experience. Further, during their life, they have experienced a lot of matters, which could guide their grandchildren with their valuable experiences. It makes young people to follow the correct path at an early age. For example, when I was a kid, our family was the extended family with grandparents. They always teach me a lot of things, such as how to live their valuable life without fail. It makes me to guide the best path to life and eventually, I realized that I did not fail in my life because I do everything what I planned. Thus, this shows that it is more important for people to live as a member of the extended family in order to follow the correct path at an early age.

Moreover, the extended family allows people to learn about how to cooperate with others. In other word, the globalized world requires companies more competitive. Along this phenomenon, companies also require people with a lot of abilities, especially cooperating with other people. This is because in business, people could not do anything without the help from others. However, today’s people are becoming selfish and arrogant, due to the fact that they could not care other people in family. Thus, people are able to learn how to cooperate with others as a member of the family. For instance, after graduated the university, I had a lot of interviews with companies where I applied. At that time, all of interviewers among companies question me about my experience cooperating with others. I always answered them my experience living as a member of the extended family and they were impressed by my stories because these stores are not normal. Finally, I became a programmer of Samsung electronics corporations. As a result, this proves that the extended family is more important for people to learn about how to cooperate with others.

To sum up, I believe that it is more important for people to be a member of the extended family. This is because they are able to follow the correct path at an early age and learn about how to cooperate with other. Consequently, the importance of my views cannot be underestimated in that it can kill two birds with one stone for the reasons I have mentioned above.