TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

In today’s modern world, it is extremely important for everyone to learn the value of money as without money it is impossible to survive. But is it correct to teach children to manage their own money from childhood or is it too dangerous to let them handle money in their own way? Some people think that it not a good notion as children are not enough judicious to take care of money matters. However, I strongly believe that it is mandatory to make them learn to manage money.

To begin with, children should know the significance of money at early age so that they will not squander it and become responsible. Nowadays, parents want to provide all the comforts to their children and in that desire they often spoil them as children do not get opportunity to appreciate how difficult it is for their parents to earn money. I can say this firmly as I have seen my sister’s elder son. My sister and his husband both have good jobs and earn pretty well which allows them to spend lavishly on their children’s unnecessary demands. This has made their elder son a person who flitters money on things which are not required and are expensive like overpriced I phones, laptop etc. This example clearly demonstrates the consequences of not making a child responsible in childhood.

Moreover, it is easy to mould the habits of a child but it is almost impossible to alter the habits of an adult person. Childhood is a stage where children listen to their parents and follow their footsteps. That is why; it is quite feasible to make teach them the valuable lessons of life. For example one of my friend’s son was given plenty of money to spend when he was in school. At that time no one used to question him as to where is he spending that money. Gradually, he got involved in many bad illegal activities due to awful company. Later, when my friend tried to talk to him or tell him to change his attitude, he never used to listen to him. Indeed, he then became a rebel. This illustrates the significance of developing the good habits in children at a young age.

To recapitulate, although many people will say that children at this age are very young and are not capable to comprehend such complex issues but I disagree; I believe that this is the appropriate age to instill the good things in children that will help them in having a bright future ahead.