TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

All parents try to equip their children with the best merits and qualities that enable them to be successful individuals in the future. In my opinion, kids should learn how to manage their money at an early age. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, youngsters who learn how to spend their money effectively are likely to grow as responsible persons. They will realize that there is nothing in this life can be taken for granted. The more you struggle on all aspects of life, the higher lucrative job and comfortable life you will get. My personal experience is a completing example of this. My father taught me that I should study well to deserve pocket money. Moreover, he always advised me to spend it wisely and not exceed the limit of specific amount. what is more, I should not ask for extra pounds, unless I have a good justification or reason. I was reluctant at the beginning, but my parents convinced me that they were doing what is best for me, which proved to be true.

Another noticeable reason is that adults will save some deposit for any possible shortage of income. In this rapidly changing world, no one can predict what could happen in the future, so it is very discreet behavior to save some of your gains for any future emergency. For instance, my close friend suddenly became ill and needed an urgent surgery, but unluckily he did not own the full required sum. I was saving a good amount of money because I used to do this since my childhood. Therefore, I gave the needed fees for the hospital and my friend did the surgery and he is enjoying his good health now. A penny saved is a penny gained.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that we should teach our kids how to manage their money. This is because they make them more responsible and it will save them money for the hard times.