TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

A glance at how adults raise and educate their children brings to light a question that has several times provoked discussion, that is, whether children should be taught to manage their money at an early age, in order for them to be capable in doing so when they grow up. As far as I as concerned, it is necessary for kids to get this training when they are young.

First and foremost, it is widely accepted that many good habits are easier to be cultivated at young age, and financial management is no exception. Just like grown-ups, at present children also tend to be affected by materialism. For instance, they may be attracted by a variety of toys and really wants to own them. Offering them a certain amount of money will help them make decisions reasonably and wisely, instead of unconditionally asking their parents to buy all the toys they like. As long as this habit is formed, they will definitely be more rational in spending money when they grow up.

Secondly, youngsters are more impressionable to the guidelines from their parents than when they become adults. Sometimes the ability to be financially responsible can not be learned by people themselves with ease, underlining the significance of advice from parents. Nonetheless, if one is already an economically independent adult, he or she may prefer to spend money following his or her own willings and is not likely to follow the valuable suggestions provided by their parents. On the other hand, the roles as parents can be better fulfilled when the children are relatively young. During this period, the experience from adults are better conveyed to the next generation.

Last but not least, an additional argument comes to mind is that children can enjoy the opportunity to come up with novel financial techniques, since they only take a relatively small amount of money from parents and do not face the risk of bankruptcy. In fact, many renowned businessmen, including Rockefeller, showed their talents in finance at an early age. If they were not given the chance to deal with their own money when they were young, may be they would not be able to build their business empires later.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe it is wise to let kids manage their own money when they are young, and picking up better habits and receiving the guide from parents are two prime and conspicuous reasons.