TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What is the most enjoyable way to travel is a controversial issue. Some people are inclined to the idea that traveling in group led by tour guide is more enjoyable than traveling alone. Others have exactly the opposite point of view. I concur with the argument and firmly believe that the most enjoyable way to travel is by traveling alone

First of all, traveling alone tourists can have the chance to learn about the local culture. They have to use the public transportation or to walk, then they will meet the local residents. This way they can have conversations with them about the their tradition,for example, food, different languages and religion. In addition, they can choose where to eat and which food to try. It`s clear that in group tours people have to follow the plan, and because of this they will have less chance to discover the culture of the visited place. Therefore it is most enjoyable to travel alone without any specific plan to follow .

In addition, traveling alone gives more freedom for the visitor. Young tourist sometimes are interested in having fun, dating and spending time with the opposite sex. If they travel in a group they will not be able to go to the bars or places where they can have fun. This makes them less likely to go in group. Because group tours are usually about the historical sites which is not appealing for young people. For instance, to take a young tourist to Petra in Jordan it is not interesting for him, he will not feel happy. In contrast, if he was visiting Jordan alone , he may choose to go to Akaba resort to enjoy his time with beautiful ladies on the beach.

In conclusion, despite the fact that many people says that in organized group tours the tourists can get more information and explanation about the site they visiting, but for giving the chance for visitor to explore the culture and to have more freedom, I think that traveling in group with tour guide is not the best way to travel.