TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of society, traveling has become more and more popular among both young people and adults. Normally, people prefer to travel in a group and led by a guide, however, I argue that the best way to trip is by making your own plans without any tour guide.

To begin with, traveling without a group which is consist of unfamiliar people is more freedom for you, and enjoying the freedom of trip is one of the most important reason that people want to relax themselves. If you travel with your parents or friends, you can talk with them when enjoying the beautiful scenery. On the contrary, if you travel with strangers, it is almost impossible to express your true feelings. For example, last year, I had a trip with my parents. It was a three days trip in Beijing. We really enjoyed it a lot, such as eating local delicious food, viewing the Place Museum, and climbing the Great Wall. If you travel with others, I am certain that you will lose at least half of the pleasure. So traveling with a group is not a wise way to relax yourself.

Then, by traveling with your own plan, you can save as much money as you can and at the same time, you can also choose what you enjoy most. As we all know, with a tour guide, you have to obey what he has decided to go and you cannot operate your time freely. Also in the last example, I designed a detailed plan about where to go, where to eat, and where to sleep. So with such a detailed plan, we can concentrate on playing and having fun.Even sometimes, you have to waste time on something you never like. For instance, in China, some tour guides always lead customers to some markets which they can get profit from. What’s more, most of the products you buy from these markets are fake or valueless. So I highly do not recommend travelers to choose this kind of groups and tour guides.

Admittedly, for some people who do not want to waste time on making plans, they think choose a tour guide can save a lot time. In fact, though you may save some time, you waste more time to endure a boring trip. It is no doubt that this is not a good choice. And in the modern society, with your smart phones or computers, there are various of knowledge for you to guide your plan. Secondly, safety is also a noticeable reason. When hiking in forests or mountains, it is not unlikely for tourists to get lost, which should be prevented. Therefore, it is absolutely necessary to have someone familiar with the region guiding the travelers as well as warning them of potential risks and dangers. It is true but I assert that if you have a detailed plan, it will safe even you travel alone.

Due to the aforementioned discussion, I believe that the best way is to travel with your own plans, not with a group which is under the control of a tour guide.