TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone has their own preferred plan to travel, and all of them have their own good reasons and justifications for holding that opinion. In my point of view, it is better to travel in a group led by a tour guide than to travel all alone. I believe this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, traveling in a group helps an individual to gain more knowledge about a place and enjoy more, which are the two things that a traveler often struggle with. Many people think that they can discover the whole area just by reading a map or a tour guide book but there are fewer chances to get a real insight of that place without the assistance of a local tour guide that knows the place very well. My own experience is a very good example of this. When I went to Europe for the first time, my trip was not a great success initially because I could not figure out the important places to visit in given time. Also, I could not enjoy much as there were times when I got bored as I had no one to share my experiences with. Moreover, I could not get much information about the places that were historically important. However, when I hired a guide, he indeed not only provided me with all the essential knowledge about all the places monuments etc but he even proved to be a great friend. in addition, he also guided me to some of the good restaurants where I could get food of my choice at reasonable price. So, I enjoyed much later than before without a guide.

Furthermore, to travel in a group is more economical and safe as compared to traveling alone because going alone at some strange place is risky. Today, traveling is very expensive; people have to spend a huge amount of money on hotels, conveyance and food etc. Whereas, one can save a lot of money in a group as the expenses get split up among all the group members. As I said above, I began traveling alone and I had to bear the expenditure of the entire trip all by me, in fact I ended up frittering on food as I did not find cheaper places to eat. Conversely, when I took a help of a guide, I was able to save some money from my food budget and did some shopping from that amount. In addition, I was also able to see many isolated places with guide which otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to explore as it was not all safe to go at those places alone. Conspicuously, I had a very memorable, interesting and most importantly safe trip.

To recapitulate, I firmly believe that travelling in a group led by a tour guide is weigh better than travelling alone. This is because guides are very informative and supportive and also it is the best way to enjoy maximum at minimum price.