TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Looking around at the world we are living in, it is not difficult to find out that we are surrounded by countless numbers of commercials now. As a tactic used to persuade the customers to buy more products, advertisements are an exaggeration of the real quality of the products, and I do believe that they make commodities look much better.

First and foremost, many effects of the products in the commercials are actually fabricated, and it can be hard to be verified or falsified. This is best illustrated with the example of personal care products. Typically, these products are promoted to contain certain kinds of ingredients that can have exclusive benefit for the skin. Nonetheless, the actual function of these substances can hardly be tested, unlikely that of the speed of a computer. As a result, a customer is likely to spend a considerable amount of money, but fails to find the special effects that are promoted in the advertisements.

Secondly, we should always bear in mind that each product has its own advantages and weaknesses, but the manufacturers only show the shining points to people in commercials. For instance, it is not uncommon for a cell phone maker to boast the speed and graphical performance of the product, making it really tempting for customers. Once they buy the product, people may find that the battery of the product is really short-lived, or the device heats a lot. All these weak points discovered during the course of using disappear the customers.

Last, an additional point comes to mind is that advertisements are a form of art, and just like any other art works, some elements in the advertisements are intentionally made to look good. It is the nature of art. The sellers are not to blame for doing so. In fact, there are many outstanding commercials that are praised and remembered because their artistic value, instead of the products they are promoting. But this unarguably makes the product seemingly better in the commercials.

Due to aforementioned ground, I agree with the idea that advertisements definitely make the products looker better than they really are.