TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, a prevalent statement we hear a lot is that most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are because the producers are sparing no effort or attract more consumers and sell their products. A considerable number of opponents, however, argue that a lot of advertisements just show how good the products as they actually are, since deception would be punished by government and abandoned by consumers. As far as I am concerned, the latter view seems align more with my perspective. There are several reasons to support my point of view, however, the following two would suffice here.

To begin with, we do sometimes feel that we do not have the same user experience as those in the advertisements, however, it dose not equal to saying that the advantages of the products are exaggerated. This is because most of the time we neglect the suitable using environment of the products when we evaluate their qualities. For instance, a car advertisement may show us a picture that a family with big smiles on their faces are driving their car along the blue ocean with warm breeze caressing their cheeks. It is not fair for us to say that this car dose not reach our expectation when we are driving in a crowed and anxious city and stuck in a traffic jam. Another simple example is that a health remedy may claims that it can help to improve our sleep quality. However, if the user do not follow the instruction and eat spicy food or drink coffee at night, then there is no doubt that the health remedy does not meet our expectation.

Another reason I would like to point out is that making product seem much better than they really are does not benefit the producers in the long run, so there is no need for a wise producer to do so. Exaggerating the benefit of the product would higher the expectation of the buyers and make them more easily to feel disappointed. What's more, they may even feel cheated, too. For example, a toothpaste claims that it could whiten our teeth in a week. It is not difficult for us to image how disappointed people would feel if they buy the toothpaste in the hope that they could possess shiny teeth but it turns out that nothing happens. Disappointment, anger and a feeling of being deceived of consumers will ruins the reputation of the toothpaste. This is a risk that a wise producer would not take in advertisement.

As we have mentioned above, only when we taking the using environment and using method into account can we fairly evaluate the quality of a product. What's more, for a long time profits, we do not see any motivation for producers to exaggerate their products, too. For these reason, I disagree with the statement propose above.