TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are always influenced by other people, like opinions from teachers, decisions made by friends, value of parents. Some people might say that we are more affected by our teachers than friends since teachers are more knowledgeable and sophisticated, while others insist that friends who spend more time and know better about us may play a more pivotal role. Personally speaking, I would argue for the first viewpoint.

In the first place, knowledge learned from teachers helps us grow to be mature and rational. Teachers impart us numerous knowledge, not only transferring the fundamental information from the textbook but also sharing with us values and standards in life to solve our mental confusions. By unselfishly disseminating all they know from their experiences, teachers provide us with accumulated perspectives and broaden horizons, which contribute to a profound impression on our cognitive systems. Consequently, we become knowledgeable as well and are able to own our personal judgments. Such remarkable changes couldn't be brought by friends on the contrary, since they themselves are as naive as us, puzzles and magic of the world are also enormous challenges for them.

What's more, students' behaviors led and regulated by teachers help students form good habits. Teachers are the only ones who have rights to discipline students except for parents. Unlike parents, teachers' regulations work more potent, for students are inherent more scared to be criticized in public than at home. As a result, students act better and try to satisfy their teacher. Fortunately, many beneficial habits are developed during this tedious process, such as punctuality, talking in a courteous manner, being a patient listener and so forth. In this regard, friends are less influential, they are often those persons who make mistakes together with you rather than correct your fault and regulate you.

The most important is that, the characteristics of the teachers will be imitated by students spontaneously. As we know, teachers spend lots of time with their students and they enlighten the students' world. As a result, chances are students become to be the similar persons as their teachers. Take me as an example: my head teacher from primary school was extremely aspiring. He has participated in all the math teacher competitions in our cities and was champions every time. What's more, he encouraged us to attend all kinds of contests and gave us unremitting assistances. What he chased and accomplished considerably touched me, therefore, I also try to be a persistent person keep on reaching my determination. In terms of this regard, students are predominant determined by the personalities of their teachers.

Admittedly, friends who share our raptures and keep company with us in our bad days are inevitable for us. However, considering all the aspects mentioned above, the importance of teachers is never too exaggerated.