TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students in colleges and schools are influenced both by their teachers and their friends. The question is that are students influenced much more by their teachers rather than by their friends? In my point of view, students are affected much more by their friends as they spend most of their times with their friends, and students find people who they like to be friends with.

Students spend most of their times with their friends. They meet them in classes and they even spend their leisure time with their friends. In addition, most of the students live with their friends in dorms. Psychologists state that to be affected by a person or an object you should be exposed to that person or object very often. However, students just see their teachers in classes and academic environment. Therefore, students are very likely to be affected by their friends. A recent study in my country reveals that most of the students have some unofficial groups in colleges which they spend most of their time within these groups. All members in these groups talk and wear in the same way.It means that these groups influence students.

On the other hand, all of students seek for their favorite people to be friend with. People and also students never be friends with people who they don't like. Furthermore, when you like a person you try to be like him. You will try to imitate him . You will try to seem like him. It means that when you are in a group of your friends, who you like them, you will try to wear and talk like them. Also, to be accepted in these kinds of students' groups you have to obey some rules. This naturally affects your behavior alot. However, students don’t choose their teachers most of the times. It means that they may have a teacher who they don’t like at all. Consequently, students cannot be influenced by people who they admire them and even don't like them .

As a conclusion, although some people think that students are more affected by their teachers, I think students are much more affected by their friends than their teachers as students spend most of their time with their friends, and they try to imitate their friends as they are the people who students like them.