TPO 20 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

All of us know some successful people. We can learn about them by reading their biographies. There are a lot of common features between successul people such as hardworking, being organized, and taking risks. However, some people believe that taking risk is bad becuase of its unpredicted consequences. However, I think taking risks are neccessary for being successful because of two reasons.

First, taking risks can broden your skills. Every new trys have their problem, so we need new knowledge and skills for solving these new problems. For example, when I was at the university, I tried to sell honey to students at the dormitory. I started to print flyers and sitributing them between students, which was so effective. After a while, the problems of this new adventure showed up. The first problem was crowding students at my room, which led to a distraction for myself and my roomate. As a result, I just wrote my phone number on the flyer, and this solved the problem. Second problem was spoiling my products, therefore I predicted a enough amount of honey to sell, and I stopped losing money. Because of this experience, I learned a lot about marketing. In sum, new risks can bring new skills.

Second, Taking new risks can increase your communication. When you are doing a new thing, you have to connect with new people, because we have common interests with old friends, and they usually do bot have experiences in a new things. For example, a few years ago, I decided to attend a conferences about robotic products that I was manufaturing them. In the conference, I met a lot of new people who were visiting or participating at that. We were talking about products and their marketing, and because of that I made a lot of friends in different comapnies, which led to find new customers for my product. So, trying new things can increase your communications with new pepople.

All and all, I think successful people try new things and take risks because they can increase thier skills, and they can increase their communications with new people. However, taking risks can lead to losing your money.