TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many ways to achieve success and people try various methods as per their choice and feasibility. Many people think that it is important to continue doing the same thing or to be persistent in order to gain success. They also do this because they want to avoid risks involved in doing something different. However, I don’t concur with this notion and believes that to attain goals in life, it is needed to try something new and take risks for the following reasons.

To begin with, it is mandatory to do something in which one is interested and good at. When people are young they generally are not aware as to what will be appropriate for them in future. It happens mainly due to deficient knowledge and sometimes because of lack of guidance for example when I was in my high school, no one told me what should I take as my main subject and so looking at my friends I ended up taking Math as my main subject. But later I realized that it was a big mistake as I was not capable of comprehending the formulas. Soon, I changed my subject to “Science” and then later I went to Med School. Today, I am a successful Doctor in my city. Thus, this incident taught me the significance of choosing a Right career of one’s interest.

Also, a person should be able to mould oneself according to the demand of the society. To elaborate this, I would like to give an example, in olden days tape recorders and cassette players were in trend and so many people used to have the business of it but as time progressed and with the advent of technology such as CD players and computer. The inclination of people towards cassette players decreased. Thus, people had to change their businesses and start a new one. Therefore, sometimes It is not the choice but the requirement that ask a person to do something new and quit the old one to achieve success in future as well.

To recapitulate, I would like to mention that although people think that taking risks is dangerous and may cause loses in life but it is wiser to change according to the need and circumstances as I have proved by giving example above. There are many people who have achieved great heights by doing different things and it is a harsh fact in life that the ‘Life is unpredictable” and whether a person is willing or not, she/he will have to take risks at some point in life. Hence, it is better to develop an habit of taking risks willingly and to face the difficulties in life boldly, this will build one’s confidence as well.