TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Needless to say, many characters contribute to one being successful in the job market, including knowledge, skills and the ability to relate to people. I believe that studying hard in school is far more important than the ability to deal with people well.

First of all, today's world is in the knowledge economy, where knowledge and skills are unprecedentedly important, and sufficient education provides people with essential skills and knowledge they need. For instance, researchers and doctors are required to know a lot about their field and study at universities for a long time before they can commence their career, and economists are expected to understand math. Studying hard at school gives people more knowledge and makes them more capable in a particular job and thus more competitive when seeking a job. Employers always favor those who can bring more benefits to their companies.

Second, through the course of study, one can develop a set of learning methods that suits themselves and cultivate the habit of studying. This makes them a life-long learner. People work for several decades in their life, during which everything is changing. New technology comes into offices from time to time, and the world is also changing and developing fast. So having the ability and habit of learning throughout life makes them be able to catch up with changes and improve. These employees are definitely more valuable and welcomed than those who can simply deal with people well.

Nonetheless, no one works alone. During career, people need to meet others, to negotiate with customers, to deal with competitors on a daily basis. So the ability to relate to people is undeniable important. Instead of requiring people to develop these abilities at school, I would argue that this is what can be learned after they actually get a job. After having sufficient knowledge and skills to get a job, people can gradually know how to get along with different people through work, which can make them more welcomed and successful in job.

In conclusion, as knowledge and skills play a more and more critical role in job market today, studying hard at school would make one more capable and competitive in a future job. In addition, people can learn how to relate well to people during their work, which makes them more successful in job.