TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

As soon as students enter to college, they try to persuade and adopt the strategies and values that help them to be successful in their future careers. Contemplating about different effective strategies, raises the question that whether students should concentrate on their studying or to build their communicational skills. Although, some people may hold the opposite view, I contend that acquiring knowledge is the key for success. Some persuasive reasons are as follows.

To begin with, from my stand point, an important factor on getting a job after school that determines the merits of a student is their GPA. As a matter of fact, pupils, usually does not have a great deal of work experiences to show off their abilities through that. However, the knowledge and the success that they have achieved in the classes that they have taken sets to play an important role in helping them getting the job. For instance, an interviewer does not expect that a recently graduated person has many job experience. On the other hand, he will look for his achievements in school and test him on his knowledge about related classes that he has taken. Therefore, it is important for students to maintain a good GPA.

Another significant aspect which should be taken into consideration is that in the workplaces people are trusted, whom have more knowledge. To put it another way, the manager in a company will assign a worthy task to someone that is more knowledgeable, as opposed to his peer with good communicational skills. I agree that in some jobs the ability to relate with people can sometimes be very helpful. Still, knowledge sets to play a pivotal role in being trusted and having the opportunity of doing the more important tasks.

As a final point, I want to mention that, schools are a great source for students to gain knowledge. Having this in mind, they should try to take advantage of this opportunity to get the most out of it. Colleges are built with the intention of providing knowledge and conveying them in the best way. Consequently, students should use their time in college to gain that knowledge. Other abilities as communicational ones can get adopted throughout the rest of life and by experience.

To sum up, for the aforementioned ground, I think the most important strategy for students is to put the knowledge and focusing on achieving it first. Communicational skills can be learnt through other steps of life too. Moreover, your knowledge can get you hired to you dream job and, with it, you will be a more reliable person in the workplace.