TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people tend to believe that in order to succeed in a future job, a person ought to have the ability to relate well to people. At the same time, the second group claims that studying hard in school is more crucial for achieving success than the ability to quickly build up decent relationships with people. Although I could understand the idea behind the first stance, I am prone to buttress the second one. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, studying hard during school years demonstrates that a person has a character. Today's school program is quite challenging and many pupils have real troubles to understand the taught material in order to get decent marks. A person who studied hard in school who did not give up and continue working and learning will demonstrate those valuable traits at work as well. By contrast, a person who was spineless during school years will hardly develop a strong character which is required for being successful in the contemporary job market.

Secondly, school years build up a foundation on which a person constructs his future career. In fact, we learn a lot of essential information about the world and the reality in school and without having this knowledge we may struggle to get education and a nice, well-paid job. For instance, it is needless to say that in order to get a decent job a person ought to get a professional diploma. Otherwise, the person will have to seek a blue collar job which is not associated with success. So, to graduate from college or university a student has to pass through a bunch of exams, learn a plethora of subjects and it is literally impossible without thoughtfully knowing information from a school program.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow a person to state that the ability to relate nicely to people is a key to success. Chiefly, the person may aver that a worker with this characteristic will be able to create a close bond with management and therefore he will be quickly promoted. However, I still affirm that hard studying in school is more important, mostly because senior managers are professionals who comprehend that being a nice guy does not substitute for being a professional. In fact, being seen as a talkative guy may backfire in case the employer decides that it distracts other employees who work side by side with the communicative guy. Withal a hard working person who forged his character during school years will be promoted because efficiency and professional knowledge are keys to professional success.

To wrap up, working hard during school education develops desirable personal traits and builds up a foundation for future education and thus it is more beneficial for a future job than having the ability to relate well to people because we are paid for fulfilling our duties well and studying hard contributes to it greatly.